Illinois I-mark

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Congratulations to ChBE alumni award winners!

On Friday, Oct. 11, 2019, the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering held its inaugural fall awards program. The department celebrated alumni awards winners and graduate students who received fellowships for 2019-2020.

The new alumni awards program recognizes graduates who have distinguished themselves through their outstanding professional achievements, their dedication and advocacy for the department, or their service or contributions to society. Honors include the Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award and the Young Alumni Achievement Award.

2019 Award Winners

Distinguished Alumni Award: John Anderson, MS ’69, PhD ’79 (Quinn)

Distinguished Alumni Award: Joan Brennecke, MS ’87, PHD ’89 (Eckert)

Distinguished Alumni Award: Jack McWhirter, BS ’59, Illinois; MS ’61, PhD ’62, Penn State

Distinguished Alumni Award: Robert Sankman, BS ’80

Young Alumni Achievement Award: Fei Wen, MS ’06, PhD ’10 (Zhao)

Young Alumni Achievement Award: Ajay Virkar, BS ’05, Illinois; PhD ’10, Stanford

The following individuals were also recognized with Distinguished Alumni Awards. They have received honors in previous years from the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences, University of Illinois Alumni Association, Grainger College of Engineering, or University of Illinois Foundation.

Hariklia ‘Lili’ Deligianni (College of LAS Alumni Achievement Award, 2019)
Jerrod Henderson (College of LAS Outstanding Young Alumni Award, 2019)
William Banholzer
R. Byron Bird
David Boger
John Georges
Dennis Houston
Steven Miller
Charles Prizer
Walter Robb
Darsh Wasan

Congratulations to all!

From left, front row: David Boger, Joan Brennecke, Ajay Virkar, Steve Miller, and Paul Kenis at the Department of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering Fall Awards Ceremony. Photos by Della Perrone for the University of Illinois.
Cookie Settings