Illinois I-mark

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Lewis elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

University of Illinois professor Jennifer A. Lewis, a Chemical and Biolmolecular Engineering affiliate faculty member, is among 220 new members named to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

The academy, founded in 1780, is one of the oldest honorary societies in the nation. Fellowship honors outstanding leadership and scholarship in a variety of fields. New members join the ranks of Albert Einstein, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Benjamin Franklin, George Washington and other influential Americans.

Jennifer A. Lewis
Jennifer A. Lewis

Also elected from the University of Illinois campus was Edward Diener, the Joseph R. Smiley Distinguished Professor of Psychology at Illinois and a senior scientist for the Gallup Organization.

“The election of professors Diener and Lewis highlights their extraordinary contributions in scholarship and leadership,” said Phyllis M. Wise, the chancellor of the Urbana-Champaign campus. “They are world leaders in behavioral science and materials research, adding their legacies to the tradition of excellence at Illinois. We are proud to have them recognized among such distinguished company.”

Lewis, the Hans Thurnauer Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, has made pioneering contributions to the directed assembly of soft functional materials. Her research focuses on engineering the flow behavior and structure of soft matter composed of colloidal, polymeric and molecular building blocks. She applies her expertise to the design of functional inks for planar and three-dimensional printing. Recently she and her research group have produced highly conductive electrode inks for printed electronic and solar devices, scaffolds for tissue engineering and lightweight structural materials.

For more information and to read the full article, please visit the Illinois News Bureau’s story on the awards.

Cookie Settings