Illinois I-mark

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Electrochemical Society names Department Head Paul Kenis to its 2019 Class of Fellows

Congratulations to Paul Kenis, who has been named Fellow of the Electrochemical Society! Kenis, the Elio E. Tarika Endowed Chair and head of the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, was cited for his exceptional contributions to the invention, characterization and development of innovative processes based on microfluidic systems for diverse applications in electrochemical energy […]

ChBE welcomes new lecturer Joachim Floess

The University of Illinois Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering is pleased to welcome Dr. Joachim Floess. He has joined the department as a senior lecturer following the departure of Dr. Josh Bennett over the summer. “I am happy to be back again working with students at the University of Illinois. This is an outstanding […]

College of LAS selects two ChBE graduates for its alumni awards

Seven alumni from the University of Illinois College of Liberal Arts & Sciences, including two chemical engineering graduates, have been named recipients of the college’s 2019 annual alumni awards. They will be honored during Homecoming weekend on campus. Hariklia “Lili” Deligianni (MS, ’86; PhD, ’88, chemical engineering) will receive an LAS Alumni Achievement Award. Jerrod […]

Printing flattens polymers, improving electrical and optical properties

Researchers have found a way to use polymer printing to stretch and flatten twisted molecules so that they conduct electricity better. A team led by chemical and biomolecular engineers from the University of Illinois report their findings in the journal Science Advances. Conjugated polymers are formed by the union of electron-rich molecules along a backbone […]

Department of Energy selects Flaherty for Early Career Research Program

The Department of Energy has selected 73 scientists from across the nation, including University of Illinois chemical and biomolecular engineering professor David Flaherty, to receive significant funding for research as part of its Early Career Research Program. The effort, now in its tenth year, is designed to bolster the nation’s scientific workforce by providing support […]

Bhargava wins Link Foundation Energy Fellowship

Congratulations to PhD student Sakat Bhargava who was recently chosen to receive a Link Foundation Energy Fellowship for 2019-2021. Bhargava joined the PhD program at the University of Illinois Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering in Fall 2017 and is a member of the Kenis Lab. His research project is entitled, “Intensifying the CO2 Electrolysis […]

Flaherty Lab receives additional funding from U.S. Army to support its catalysis research

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Professor David Flaherty has received a new grant from the U.S. Army to develop design rules for solid catalysts for selective oxidations in the liquid-phase. “To do that, we need to understand how to engineer the electronic structure of atomically dispersed transition metal active sites on oxide supports, which depend on […]

New course in rare events offered in India this summer

Baron Peters, professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering at the University of Illinois, arrived on campus in January 2019 with plans to organize a summer course on reaction rate theory and rare events. He requested startup funds to support the course, and things worked out. This July, 40 doctoral students and seven professors from around […]

Zhao honored for his work in enzyme engineering

Congratulations to Huimin Zhao, who was recently selected to receive the 2019 Enzyme Engineering Award for his pioneering contributions in the development of directed evolution for enzyme engineering. The award, given by Engineering Conferences International, recognizes outstanding achievement in the field of enzyme engineering, through basic or applied research in academia or industry. It will […]

ACS division names Guironnet a Young Investigator

Congratulations to Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Assistant Professor Damien Guironnet, who was chosen to receive a 2019 Young Investigator Award from the American Chemical Society’s Division of Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering (PMSE). Young Investigators are early-career leaders who have made significant contributions in their respective fields within polymer materials science and engineering, according to […]

« Previous Page Next Page »
Cookie Settings