Diao named I.C. Gunsalus Scholar by College of LAS


Ying Diao
Ying Diao

Chemical and biomolecular engineering professor Ying Diao joins several faculty in the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences who have recently received named scholar positions for their contributions in education and research at the University of Illinois.

Ying Diao has been named a 2021-2022 I.C. Gunsalus Scholar. This endowment supports the development of the scholarship and teaching of young faculty members in the physical and life sciences. The distinction includes the use of the title for the next academic year and a stipend to support research and teaching.

Diao’s research pursues the fundamental understanding and control of multiscale molecular assembly processes to achieve sustainable manufacturing of electronic materials, energy devices, and therapeutic products. She joined UIUC in 2015.

The other newly announced named positions include the Helen Corley Petit Scholars, the J. Andrew and Susan S. Langan Professorial Scholar, LAS Dean’s Distinguished Professorial Scholars, the Leslie Watt Scholar, and the Lynn M. Martin Professorial Scholar.

Robert W. Schaefer Professor Brendan Harley was a 2015-2016 I.C. Gunsalus Scholar.

Original story provided by the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences.