Illinois I-mark

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Prof. Ying Diao, grad student Zahra Shamsi win teaching awards

Congratulations to Dr. Ying Diao, Assistant Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, and graduate student Zahra Shamsi. Both were honored by the School of Chemical Sciences for their teaching excellence in the 2016-2017 school year.

“The award recognizes the entire scope of our educational efforts, from course development to in-class instruction. Excellence in teaching is not only intellectually satisfying, but our instructional efforts immeasurably strengthen our research mission,” said Dr. Jonathan Sweedler, director of the School of Chemical Sciences.

Dr. Ying Diao

Diao, a Dow Chemical Company Faculty Scholar, pursues fundamental understanding and control of molecular assembly processes to advance innovations in printed electronics for energy and healthcare. She joined the department in 2015 and earned her PhD from MIT and her BS from Tsinghua University.

Other faculty recipients of the award for 2016-2017 include So Hirata and Christian Ray from the Department of Chemistry.

Zahra Shamsi

Zahra Shamsi is a 3M Fellow and member of Dr. Diwakar Shukla‘s research group. She earned her BS and MS from the Sharif University of Technology in 2014 and joined the department in 2015.

Other graduate students who received the award include Nels Anderson, Emily Geddes, and Yusef Shari’ati from Chemistry.

Congratulations, everyone!

Cookie Settings