Illinois I-mark

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Students honored at 11th annual graduate research symposium

The Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering graduate students and members of the Graduate Advisory Council organized the 11th annual graduate research symposium that took place October 26.

During the symposium, there were eight poster presentations and 10 oral presentations given by students. Topics covered included synthetic biology, microfluidics, tissue engineering, catalysis, and fundamental polymer physics.

This year’s symposium judges included some who had found the symposium when they were graduate students. The judges were chemical engineering alumni and industry leaders including Eric Hukkanen, Ph.D. ’04, from The Dow Chemical Company, Eric Choban, Ph.D. ’04, from DuPont, Mohan Karulkar, Ph.D. ‘07, from the Ford Motor Company and Neel Varde, Ph.D. ’04, from Roquette.

Danielle Mai, a ChemE graduate student and one of the organizers of the event, said they enjoyed having the alums return who had helped start the symposium. “It was neat to see the process come full circle by having them back to participate again,” she said.

Mai said the event allows students to share their research and learn about ongoing research in the department. “We often get caught up on our own specific projects, so it’s a nice opportunity to take a step back and see everything else that’s going on,” she said. “The symposium also provides a great networking opportunity with professors as well as our judges from industry.”

Poster Presentation Winners 2012

First Place: Ritika Mohan

Advisor: Department Head and Professor Paul J.A. Kenis

A Combinatorial Microfluidic Approach for Point-of-Care Applications

Second Place: Sudipto Guha

Advisor: Department Head and Professor Paul J.A. Kenis

X-ray Compatible Microfluidic Platforms for Screening, Crystallization and Structure Determination of Proteins

Third Place: Molly Jhong

Advisor: Department Head and Professor Paul J.A. Kenis

Catalyst and Electrode Design for CO2 Electrolysis to Value-added Products

Oral Presentation Winners 2012

First Place: Yunzi Luo

Advisor: Professor Huimin Zhao

Apply a Synthetic Biology Approach to Demystify the Target Cryptic Pathway for Novel Natural Product Discovery

Second Place: Maryam Sayyah

Advisor: Professor Kenneth S. Suslick (Chemistry)

Composite Metal Oxide Materials Synthesized by Ultrasonic Spray Pyrolysis for CO2 Capture

Third Place: Sachit Goyal

Advisor: Department Head and Professor Paul J.A. Kenis

Solvent Compatible Microfluidic Platforms for Solid Form Screening of Pharmaceutical Parent CompundsMore photos from the 2012 11th Annual Graduate Symposium
2011 Graduate Research Symposium and Photos

Cookie Settings