Illinois I-mark

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Undergraduate students in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering actively work alongside our world-class faculty on a variety of research projects. Every year in April, these students have the opportunity to present their work as part of the Undergraduate Research Symposium.

The annual event is organized by Omega Chi Epsilon, the national honor society for chemical engineering. It is an opportunity for students to showcase their research and network with alumni from the industry who serve as judges.

For more information about the symposium, please contact Alumni who are interested in volunteering as a judge in the future can reach out at

2019 Undergraduate Research Symposium

2021 Undergraduate Research Symposium

The Department for Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering held the 2021 Undergraduate Research Symposium on April 9, 2021, via Zoom. Nine undergraduates presented research from eight different labs.

The poster presentations listed below were judged by Corey Correnti (BS ’85), former Senior Vice President of Marketing, Sales and Supply at BP who is currently a senior advisor for Marakon; Jim Morris (BS’ 81), former chief facilities engineer for ExxonMobil who is currently assisting with the development of ChBE’s Professional Master’s program; and Tom Tulig (BS’ 78), the vice president of novel processes and new energies technology and the general manager of process development at Shell.

  • Rachel Park won first prize with her poster, “Metal Oxide Supports for Molybdenum Carbide Nanocatalysts in the Reverse Water Gas Shift Reaction.” Park is advised by Dr. Hong Yang.
  • Maxwell Polanek placed second with his poster, “Incorporating Placental-Derived Membrane Matrix and Soluble Factors in Mineralized Collagen Scaffolds for Improved Bone Repair.” Polanek is advised by Dr. Brendan Harley. 
  • Devin Schinski took third place with his poster, “Polyethylene Encapsulation of metal-Bound Nanoparticles.” Schinski is advised by Dr. Damien Guironnet.  

The winning poster presenters were recognized later on April 9 at the Undergraduate Awards Ceremony, which was also be held on Zoom.

Thank you to all who joined us for these virtual events. The Zoom recordings are available by request at We look forward to hosting this annual event on campus in 2022! 

Past winners and participants:

2021 Undergraduate Research Symposium
2019 Undergraduate Research Symposium
2018 Undergraduate Research Symposium
2017 Undergraduate Research Symposium
2016 Undergraduate Research Symposium
2015 Undergraduate Research Symposium
2014 Undergraduate Research Symposium
2013 Undergraduate Research Symposium
2012 Undergraduate Research Symposium

Cookie Settings