School of Chemical SciencesCollege of Liberal Arts & SciencesCollege of Engineering
Give to ChBE


More than 200 students converged on the University of Illinois campus this past weekend for the American Institute of Chemical Engineers’ regional student conference. Students competed in a variety of events, such as ChemE Jeopardy, toured nearby wastewater treatment and chemical manufacturing plants, received career advice from industry insiders, shared posters on their research, and more.
Associate Professor Charles M. Schroeder has been named the Dr. Ray and Beverly Mentzer Faculty Scholar. 
Professor Hong Yang has been named the inaugural Richard C. Alkire Professor in Chemical Engineering effective spring 2015. 
Team Illini—Ivan Villamar and Patrick Regan (Chemical Engineering), and Sean Ebihara (Chemistry)—is among the campus team winners of the 2015 U.S. Ultimate Field Trip.
Assistant Professor Brendan Harley has been named a 2015-2016 I.C. Gunsalus Scholar by the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.
Assistant Professor Charles Sing has been named to the 2015 Forbes 30 under 30 Science List. 
Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Assistant Professor Brendan Harley was honored as a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). 
Alumnus William F. Banholzer, M.S. '81, Ph.D. '83, received an LAS Alumni Achievement Award during the Homecoming 2014 weekend. Banholzer, former chief technical officer for Dow Chemical, now a professor at the University of Wisconsin at Madison.
Make plans to join ChBE at a reception to honor faculty for awards and promotions! 
The Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering graduate students and members of the Graduate Student Advisory Council organized the 13th annual graduate research symposium that took place October 24.