Alumni Awards

2021 Graduate and Alumni Awards Ceremony

Friday, October 8, 2021

4 p.m. | Natural History Building | Third Floor Commons Area

Our annual fall ceremony celebrates ChBE's Alumni Awards recipients, honors the winners of the Graduate Research Symposium, and recognizes our graduate student fellows. We hope you can join us for this celebration, which will be followed by a reception.


Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award

Monty Alger (PhD ’82) | AIChE Past President

Dan Crowl (PhD ‘75) | Michigan Tech University (ret.) 

Kit Gordon (BS ’83) | Grassroots Ecology

Steve McLin (BS ’68) | Bank of America (ret.)

Marchoe Dill Northern (BS ’97) | Procter & Gamble

Joesph Glas (PhD ’65) | BioEnergy International

H. Scott Fogler* (BS ’62) | University of Michigan 

Young Alumni Achievement Award

Jacob Becraft (BS ’13) | Strand Therapeutics

Laura Banovic Flessner (BS ’05) | Mindtap 

*H. Scott Fogler, the Arthur F. Thurnau Professor and Vennema Professor of Chemical Engineering, passed away on August 21, 2021.


In 2019, the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering launched an annual Alumni Awards program featuring two honors to recognize our distinguished graduates.

Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award

Honors ChBE alumni for their professional/technical achievements, dedication, and advocacy for the department or society.

Young Alumni Achievement Award

Honors ChBE alumni who have graduated within the previous 15 years for the accomplishments and qualities above.

Help us honor our outstanding alumni

Nominations are accepted on a rolling basis with a final deadline of July 1 to submit for full consideration. Self-nominations are encouraged and any nomination that is not selected will be held for future consideration. Submissions are accepted via the nomination form or contact us at or 217-244-0941. 

Nomination Form

Past Winners

2019 Alumni Awards

Distinguished Alumni Award 
John Anderson
Joan Brennecke
Jack McWhirter
Robert Sankman

Young Alumni Achievement Award
Fei Wen
Ajay Virkar

The following individuals were also recognized with Distinguished Alumni Awards for earning previous honors from the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences, University of Illinois Alumni Association, Grainger College of Engineering, and the University of Illinois Foundation:

  • Hariklia ‘Lili’ Deligianni (College of LAS Alumni Achievement Award, 2019)
  • Jerrod Henderson (College of LAS Outstanding Young Alumni Award, 2019)
  • William Banholzer
  • R. Byron Bird
  • David Boger
  • John Georges
  • Dennis Houston
  • Steven Miller
  • Charles Prizer
  • Walter Robb
  • Darsh Wasan

Contact Us

Reach out with any questions about our Alumni Awards.