Professor Deborah Leckband elected to the Biomedical Engineering Society Class of 2014 Fellows


Written by

Reid T. Milner Professor Deborah Leckband has been elected to the Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES) Class of 2014 Fellows.

Professor Deborah Leckband
Professor Deborah Leckband

Fellow status is awarded to members who demonstrate exceptional achievements and experience in the field of biomedical engineering, and a record of membership and participation in the Society. Public recognition of Professor Leckband and the Class of 2014 Fellows will be held during the BMES Annual Meeting, October 22-25, 2014, in San Antonio, Texas.

Professor Leckband was recognized for her research in two principal areas: she carries out studies of how mechanical and biochemical signals are transduced across cell membranes to regulate cell and tissue functions through simulations, single molecule studies, and biomechanical studies of proteins, cells, and tissues. She also studies fundamental molecular forces and their roles in a range of applications in biotechnology, from drug delivery to biosensors to adhesion. She has published more than 120 scientific articles.

Professor Leckband has received numerous other awards for her research, including a FIRST Award of the National Institute of Health and a CAREER Award from the National Science Foundation. She is a Fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the American Chemical Society. She has won the Xerox Award for Faculty Research from the College of Engineering and the Helen Corley Petit Scholar from the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at the University of Illinois; she is also a University Scholar and has been a Fellow of the Center for Advanced Studies.

Share this story

This story was published August 4, 2014.