Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at Illinois

Brendan Harley awarded NSF grant for 3D bioprinter

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering faculty member Brendan Harley and a team of researchers from the Carl R. Woese Institute for Genomic Biology’s Regenerative Biology and Tissue Engineering theme were awarded a National Science Foundation grant that will provide funding for a new 3D-bioprinting instrument. The Major Research Instrumentation grant will fund the purchase of an […]

Fikile Brushett, PHD ’10, named to C&EN’s “Talented Twelve”

Congratulations to alumnus Fikile Brushett, PhD ’10, who was featured among C&EN’s “Talented Twelve,” an annual compilation of rising stars who are tackling some of the toughest scientific challenges facing the world today. Brushett earned his PhD in 2010; his advisor was Paul Kenis, William H. and Janet G. Lycan Professor and Department Head. Brushett […]

ChBE researchers awarded NSF grant to advance the frontiers of 3-D printing

The National Science Foundation has awarded a $1.2 million, three-year grant to four professors in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering for a project that has potential to advance the frontiers of 3-D printing. Drs. Charles Sing, Ying Diao, Damien Guironnet, and Simon Rogers intend to create a platform for designing advanced materials that allows makers to […]

ChBE faculty play key role in new Department of Energy-funded bioenergy research center

A new, multimillion dollar bioenergy research center at the University of Illinois that promises to be a catalyst for the development of sustainable, cost-effective biofuels and bioproducts will involve several faculty from Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering. The Department of Energy announced earlier this summer it has awarded the University of Illinois $104 million for the […]

New insights from Schroeder group will guide solution-based processing for next-gen functional materials

New research from Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at the University of Illinois offers new insight into the self-assembly of electrically-active biohybrid materials, which consist of natural peptides linked to synthetic conductive polymers. The results, published recently in ACS Central Science, promise to aid solution-based processing of next-generation optoelectronic materials such as flexible organic semiconductors. Thanks […]

Prof. Ying Diao, grad student Zahra Shamsi win teaching awards

Congratulations to Dr. Ying Diao, Assistant Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, and graduate student Zahra Shamsi. Both were honored by the School of Chemical Sciences for their teaching excellence in the 2016-2017 school year. “The award recognizes the entire scope of our educational efforts, from course development to in-class instruction. Excellence in teaching is […]

Alumni chosen for AIChE’s ’35 Under 35′ list of outstanding engineers

Congratulations to Ashlee Ford Versypt and Meagan Lewis, both alumni of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at Illinois, for being recognized on AIChE’s 35 Under 35 list for 2017. The winners were announced this week in CEP, Chemical Engineering Progress magazine. Recipients were chosen for their significant contributions to the American Institute of Chemical Engineers and […]

Welcome Dr. Mitrovski, new Teaching Associate Professor in ChBE

The Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering is pleased to welcome Dr. Svetlana Mitrovski. She joined the department in July as a Teaching Associate Professor. Dr. Mitrovski joins the department following 10 years as an Associate Professor at Eastern Illinois University in Charleston. At EIU, she taught a variety of chemistry courses to undergraduate and […]

Huimin Zhao wins Biotechnology Progress Award

Congratulations to Dr. Huimin Zhao, recipient of the 2017 Award for Excellence in Biological Engineering Publication! The Biotechnology Progress Award for Excellence in Biological Engineering Publication recognizes outstanding contributions to the literature in biomedical engineering, biological engineering, biotechnology, biochemical engineering and related fields. The award, which is underwritten by John Wiley & Sons, celebrates excellence […]

NSF awards Illinois $3 million for interdisciplinary graduate student training

Program to form new insight on the brain, expand participation in field of brain science The National Science Foundation recently granted the University of Illinois $3 million for an interdisciplinary graduate student training program to help form new insight on the brain—and to expand participation in the field of brain science itself. Sixty graduate students […]

Next Page »