Faculty, grad students honored for teaching excellence


Written by

Congratulations to faculty and graduate students recognized by the University of Illinois School of Chemical Sciences for their teaching excellence in the 2014-2015 academic year. Those in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering who received awards include Associate Professor Mary Kraft, Assistant Professor David Flaherty, and Lecturer Troy Vogel, plus graduate students Qilong Huang and Vahid Mirshafiee.

“The award recognizes the entire scope of our educational efforts, from course development to in-class instruction. Excellence in teaching is not only intellectually satisfying, but our instructional efforts immeasurably strengthen our research mission,” said Jonathan Sweedler, director of the School of Chemical Sciences.

Others honored with 2014-2015 SCS Teaching Awards include Martin Gruebele, the James R. Eiszner Endowed Chair in Chemistry; Prashant Jain, Assistant Professor of Chemistry; plus chemistry graduate students Ambika Bhagi, Elizabeth Parkinson, and Cody Tripp.


Share this story

This story was published October 5, 2015.