Professor Hong Yang elected AAAS Fellow


Written by

Six researchers from the University of Illinois, include Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Professor Hong Yang, have been named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Hong Yang, Richard C. Alkire Professor in Chemical Engineering
Hong Yang, Richard C. Alkire Professor in Chemical Engineering

AAAS is honoring 347 new fellows this year for their “scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.” Fellows are AAAS members selected by their peers for outstanding contributions to the field. The new fellows will be recognized at the annual AAAS meeting in February 2016.

The newly appointed AAAS fellows include: Hong Yang, the Richard C. Alkire Professor in Chemical Engineering in the department of chemical and biomolecular engineering; U. of I. President Timothy Killeen; William Metcalf, the G. William Arends Professor in Molecular and Cellular Biology in the department of microbiology; William Mischo, the Berthold Family Professor of Information Access and Discovery and the head of the Grainger Engineering Library Information Center; Ralph Nuzzo, the G.L. Clark Professor of Chemistry and a professor of materials science and engineering; and statistics professor emeritus Stephen Portnoy.

Hong Yang earned his Ph.D. from the University of Toronto in 1998 and joined the Illinois faculty in 2012. He was selected for the “discovery of a new synthesis platform for precisely controlled noble metal alloy nanostructures, with applications in electrocatalysis for fuel cells and batteries.”

Professor Yang was recently invested as the Richard C. Alkire Professor in Chemical Engineering.

Timothy Killeen, who took office in May as the university’s 20th president, earned his Ph.D. at University College London in 1975. Before coming to Illinois, he served as the vice chancellor for research and president of the Research Foundation of the State University of New York. AAAS recognized him for “distinguished contributions to optical interferometry, education and government administration, and leadership in professional service.”

William Metcalf earned his Ph.D. from Purdue University in 1991. He was selected for “pioneering discoveries on the genetics and enzymology of methanogenesis by archaea and the mechanisms for aerobic methane formation in marine surface waters.”

William Mischo earned his M.A. from the University of Wisconsin at Madison in 1974 and joined the U. of I. faculty in 1983. AAAS recognized him for “research relevant to the development of new digital library technologies.”

Ralph Nuzzo earned his Ph.D. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1980 and worked at Bell Laboratories in materials research before joining the U. of I. faculty in 1991. AAAS acknowledged him for “distinguished contributions to materials chemistry, particularly for the development of self-assembled monolayers as systems for the design of functional molecular surfaces and interfaces.”

Stephen Portnoy earned his Ph.D. from Stanford University in 1969 and joined the Illinois faculty in 1974. He was honored for “contributions to asymptotic theory and quantile processes and leadership in the development of robust regression methods.” He also was recognized for “building significant collaborations between statistical sciences and ecology.”

AAAS is the world’s largest scientific society. The organization was founded in 1848 and fellows have been elected annually since 1874.

By the University of Illinois News Bureau

Share this story

This story was published November 23, 2015.