Schweizer wins Joel Henry Hildebrand Award from ACS


Written by

Congratulations to Professor Ken Schweizer, recipient of the Joel Henry Hildebrand Award in the Theoretical and Experimental Chemistry of Liquids from the American Chemical Society.

Kenneth S. Schweizer
Kenneth S. Schweizer

Schweizer is the G. Ronald and Margaret H. Morris Professor of Materials Science and Engineering at the University of Illinois.

The annual award, established in 1980, recognizes distinguished contributions to the understanding of the chemistry and physics of liquids. It’s named after ACS Past President Joel H. Hildebrand.

Schweizer will receive the award at the 2016 American Chemical Society national meeting in San Diego on March 15, 2016. The award is sponsored by ExxonMobil.

Schweizer has a bachelor’s degree from Drexel University and a Ph.D. from Illinois. He develops and applies statistical mechanical theories to understand equilibrium and dynamical phenomena in soft materials, such as colloids, polymers, and liquid crystals. A member of the Illinois faculty since 1991, he has faculty appointments in the Departments of Materials Science, Chemistry and Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering.

Share this story

This story was published August 19, 2015.